Affiliate member of AECO

PolarisAECO

Join our YouTube channel!

PolarisYouTube
Polaris polaris expéditions Embark at the top!
flag français
Polaris

Spitsbergen exploration cruise


  • Length: 12 days
  • Guests: 12
  • Period: early June to mid-September
  • Departures/arrival point: Longyearbyen (airport)
  • More information/dates/prices: upon request

Spitzberg


Overview

We will take you to explore Spitsbergen Island, located at 80° north (merely 1,100 km from the North Pole!), the most northern land a ship can reach, the kingdom of the polar bear. We will alternate between excursions and navigations in order to discover without haste the sceneries, the glaciers and the wildlife that give this place its charms. The days of summer never end in Spitsbergen, and we will enjoy the pleasures of very long days and the lights of the midnight sun.

Spitzberg


Complete description

Spitsbergen

Spitsbergen is the largest island of the Svalbard archipelago, north of Norway. The name, which means “pointed mountains”, results from Spitsbergen’s very mountainous landscape that shows all the typical features of polar environment. The island is rich with dazzling panoramas, gigantic glaciers, steep mountains as well as plains in flowers and welcoming tundras. It is home for a very diverse arctic wildlife that you will discover with us: polar bears, bearded seals, walruses, reindeers, arctic foxes, whales (beluga whales and Minke whale), many bird species such as the common eider, the arctic Tern, the Atlantic puffin, the black guillemots, the little auk, the snow bunting, the barnacle goose, the Ivory gull, the phalaropes…
The island was also the scene for whale hunting in the 17th Century as well as a place of fur trapping, and has been the starting point for countless North Pole expeditions, the vestiges of which are still visible when we will visit the island.

Details of the expedition

The circuit starts with your arrival at Longyearbyen’s airport in the evening. The ship will cast off the next day and will head for the north. We will stay in different places every day, and we will follow the western seaboard towards the north of the island, putting in several times along the way. While the trip on the first and the last days may last longer, our other journeys will consist of short trips of a few hours, which may sometimes be extended when we encounter whales, seals and bears. We will spend the “nights” lying at anchor at the feet of glaciers or in quiet, beautiful bays. We will stop at Farmhamna, Poolpynten, the King’s Bay, the 14 of July Glacier, the Lilliehook Glacier, the Magdalena Fjord, the island of Ytre, Virgo Bay, Hamilton Bay, Lifdefjorden, the Monaco Glacier and many other places. During each stop, we will go on foot excursion, sometimes for only a couple of hours, to check a seal colony or a bird nesting area on flat lands, to climb a summit and enjoy the panoramic scenery, to cross a peninsula behind which Polaris 1 or her zodiac inflatables will pick us up again, or to walk on glaciers and admire its mills and crevasses. You can expect some encounters with wild animals every time; we will take the time to observe them. All the land excursions will be under the supervision of professional and seasoned guides. There is no strict schedule, as the program will literally be decided by the ice field and the animals, and mostly by the bears. We will constantly watch for the appearance of the Lord of the Arctic, and as soon as it graces us with its presence, we will come to watch it (by sea, naturally) and enjoy the formidable and unforgettable scenes of the life of this incredible animal. On past occasions, we had several opportunities to watch mother bears suckling their young, male bears hunting or eating seals on icebergs, or simply some bears on a stroll.

Spitzberg


More information

  • Physical condition: there is no specific age or physical requirement. The guests must be in good shape and able to walk for a few hours on a fairly even land.
  • Climate: permanent daylight in the summer, the sun shines at midnight… temperatures between 0 and 15 °C.
  • Required equipments:
    - Though the temperatures are not really cold, bring your winter clothes, as they will be required for the zodiac tours.
    - Walking shoes.
    - Binoculars.
  • No time difference.

Consult our photo gallery.

Spitzberg

Affiliate member of AECO

PolarisAECO

Retrouvez toutes nos vidéos sur notre chaîne

PolarisYouTube

Retrouvez-nous sur FACEBOOK

Polaris Facebook

 

Polaris polaris expéditions Embarquez au sommet
flag english version
Polaris

Croisière découverte au Spitzberg


Spitzberg


Résumé du séjour

Nous vous proposons de partir à la découverte de l’île du Spitzberg, située à la latitude 80°Nord (soit 1100km seulement du pôle nord !), la terre la plus septentrionale accessible en bateau, royaume de l’ours polaire, où nous alternerons excursions et navigations afin de découvrir paisiblement les paysages, les glaciers, la faune et la flore qui font le charme de ce lieu. L’été, le jour y est permanent et nous pourrons profiter des très longues journées et des lumières rasantes du soleil de minuit.

Spitzberg


Présentation détaillée

Le Spitzberg

Le Spitzberg est la plus grande île de l’archipel du Svalbard situé dans l’océan arctique, au nord de la Norvège. Très montagneuse, l’île du Spitzberg (qui signifie « montagne pointue »), présente toutes les caractéristiques du milieu polaire. Elle offre des panoramas époustouflants, gigantesques glaciers plongeant dans la mer, montagnes escarpées, mais aussi plaines fleuries et toundras accueillantes. Elle abrite une faune arctique très diversifiée que nous vous ferons observer : ours polaires, phoques barbus, morses, rennes, renards polaires, baleines (belugas et rorqual de minke), ainsi que de très nombreux oiseaux : eiders à duvet, sternes arctiques, macareux, guillemots, mergules, bruants, bernaches, mouettes ivoires, phalaropes…
Théâtre de la chasse à la baleine au 17ème siècle, site de trappe pour la fourrure, et point de départ de nombreuses expéditions pour le pôle nord, l’île possède de nombreux vestiges encore visibles de ces activités où nous nous rendrons.

Déroulement du séjour

Vous arrivez le soir à l’aéroport de Longyearbyen. Nous appareillerons le lendemain matin et mettrons le cap au nord. Chaque jour nous serons dans un endroit différent, et nous naviguerons le long de la côte ouest avec de nombreuses escales jusqu’au nord de l’île. A part le premier et le dernier jour, nos navigations consisteront simplement en sauts de puces de quelques heures, parfois rallongées par des rencontres avec des baleines, des phoques ou des ours. Nous passerons les « nuits » au mouillage au pied des glaciers, ou dans de belles baies paisibles. Parmi nos escales : Farmhamna, Poolpynten, la baie du roi, le glacier du 14 juillet, le glacier de Lilliehook, le fjord de la madeleine, les îles de Ytre et Virgohamna, la baie de Hamilton, Lifdefjorden et le glacier de Monaco, et bien d’autres encore. Chaque escale sera l’occasion d’une excursion à pied, parfois simplement de 2 heures sur terrain plat pour se rendre près d’une colonie de morses ou d’un site de nidification d’oiseaux, parfois pour atteindre un sommet et son panorama ou traverser une péninsule derrière laquelle le Polaris 1 ou ses zodiacs vous récupéreront ou encore une marche sur glacier pour aller admirer les moulins et les crevasses. A chaque fois les rencontres avec les animaux sauvages seront au rendez-vous et nous prendrons le temps de les observer. Toutes les excursions à terre seront encadrées par des guides professionnels très expérimentés. Il n’y a pas de programme fixe, car ce sont véritablement la banquise et les animaux, principalement les ours, qui rythmeront notre séjour. En effet nous guetterons en permanence la présence du seigneur de l’arctique, et lorsqu’il se montrera nous en profiterons pour nous approcher (par la mer bien sûr !), et ce sera l’occasion d’observations inoubliables des scènes de vie de cet incroyable animal. C’est ainsi que nous avons déjà pu observer à de nombreuses reprises des mères allaitant leurs petits, des mâles en chasse et dévorant des phoques sur des icebergs, ou tout simplement des ours en vadrouille.

Spitzberg


Informations pratiques

  • Condition physique : il n’y a pas de limite d’âge ni de condition physique particulière requise. Il faut toutefois être en bonne forme, capable de marcher quelques heures sur terrain peu accidenté.
  • Climat : l’été le jour est permanent, le soleil brille à minuit… Les températures oscillent entre 0 et 15°C.
  • Matériel à prévoir :
    - Bien qu’il ne fasse pas froid, prévoyez vos vêtements d’hiver, ils vous seront utiles pour les promenades en zodiac
    - Chaussures de marche
    - Jumelles
  • Pas de décalage horaire

N'hésitez pas à consulter notre galerie photo.

Spitzberg